Seasonal Jobs in New Zealand - Seasonal Work in New Zealand
Experiences

   Home > Experiences




Working Experiences in New Zealand



Share your experience >>

Share your kiwi working experience or even just your holiday tips tricks and what ever you want to say about your time in New Zealand....these stories really benefit the users our this site and as a bonus SeasonalJobs.co.nz will pay for it if it gets published!
So what are you waiting for?!






















Seasonal Jobs Developer Feeds

Farm stay

When we arrived in New Zealand last September, we wanted to get out of the city (Auckland) and see the real New Zealand, so when we saw an advertisement saying "farm stay, kiwi family, must love animals" we knew we had found the job for us.

When we called about the job it must of been fate as the job had been filled already but the couple dropped out just 5 minutes before the phonecall, so off to Whakatane we were. 

So after 6 hours of travelling down from Auckland, including running around Rotorua in torrential rain looking for a present for our hosts, we finally arrived at the farm and were greated by 3 very friendly labradors and a host of newly born calves.

Following an evening of getting to know the family and a great roast dinner, we were sent to work bright and early the following morning, and I was in for a little suprise. A little nervous at the start I began moving along the row milking, the 3rd cow along decided to give me a little welcome to farming all over my head, by this point I knew what I had let myself in for but ahh well all I could do was laugh.

Now I am not going to account for every day of the 6 weeks we spent on the farm so I thought I would list some of our favourite funny and most memorable moments whilst in Whakatane.

1. 3 Little pigs- Half way through our stay at the farm, 3 little pigs arrived in potato sacks and we quickly became very attached to them. One of our first experiences with these cheeky animals was chasing one of them on the first day around the farm after it somehow managed to escape, and let me tell you one thing pigs can run, and I mean run. Despite the difficult start, the pigs beacame firm favourite and in the end we managed to teach them their names and make them sit for the favourite food, strangely oranges.

2. Family holiday- one of the highlights of our stay at the farm was being invited on a camping holiday to Bowentown with our host family and their children and grandchildren, we were really made to feel part of the family with barbaques, hungis (a moari way of cooking involving stones and an underground pit, however in this case a beer barrell was used) and fishing trips. This was one of the main reasons that we would recommend staying with a kiwi family whilst on a working holiday, you are geniunally made to feel a part of the family.

3. The escaped cow- So for the first time the farmer had trusted us with bring in the newly born calf and its mother. At first everything seemed to be going supprinsgly well, with our quad biking skills helping us to round the mother and bring her down towards her new padock. However cow 165 as she was known had other ideas and decided to jump over the electric fence and start heading down towards the road. Myself in a state of panic decided to chase after the cow (BAD IDEA!!!!), the cow just began to run faster and faster (and like the pigs she could move), so my next move was to slide under and electric fence and try and catch the cow without her noticing. However as this was happening, I turned and noticed the farmers car coming up the drive (perfect timing there Peter). Luckily the cow slowed down before she caused a major traffic accident and all was well

 This has definaltly been the highlight of our trip so far.




Submitted by: Alexander Hannay
Date submitted: 5/02/2013 3:54:09 a.m.


Working as an apple packer in Motueka Mon May 9

Working for free accommodation in Wellington Thu Mar 24

From working holiday visa to a resident Thu Mar 24

From the big city to the field of kiwi fruit Thu Mar 24

Working with Kiwi fruit Thu Mar 24

The Christmas rush Mon Feb 29

Packing kiwifruit in Motueka Mon Feb 29

Asparagus picking Mon Feb 29

put on your work clothes, roll up your sleeves and get out there Tue May 27

MY JOURNEY FROM $350/HR TO MIN WAGE: LOVING IT IN NEW ZEALAND Tue May 27

The Gorilla Hut Sun May 26

Working in sales in NZ Mon May 13

Life as an apple picker Mon May 13

Marahau Sun May 5

hanging nets at isabel vinyard Mon Mar 25

Farm stay Tue Feb 5

Berry-Picking and Ice-Cream Making Tue Dec 18

Vineyard Work in Blenheim Sun Nov 25

Working As A "Milkman" Sat Aug 4

Being an au-pair Thu Aug 2

Grape harvesting in Central Otago Thu Aug 2

Whenever Wed Jun 6

Picking up the oil in Tauranga Mon May 21

Onion grading Sat May 12

Omarama, Place of Light Tue Apr 3

Napier or the job war Sun Apr 1

Some helpful tips Wed Feb 29

Fruit picking in Central Otago Mon Feb 27

Some useful tips Thu Feb 16

Fruit picking in Motueka Wed Jan 18

Where Do We Go From Here Tue Dec 20

Picked it, Packed it, Buggered Off! Tue Dec 20

Seasonal jobs COULD change your very life as you know it Tue Dec 20

I work to live, I donít live to work Mon Dec 19

I only had $100 to my name Sun Nov 20

Odd Jobs In Central Otago Sun Nov 20

Peach thinning working experience Sun Nov 20

The young vines were frosted over Sun Nov 20

The work found me Sun Nov 20

Working for Watties Factory Mon Oct 24

Working New Zealand from a different perspective Mon Oct 24

I had always been dreaming about coming to New Zealand Mon Oct 24

My first job in vineyards was stripping Mon Oct 24

My happiness was indescribable Tue Oct 18

Working in a Packhouse in Auckland Tue Oct 18

Working on a vineyard in Blenheim Tue Oct 18

Cycling in New Zealand not friendly Tue Oct 18

Fruit Picking Tips for New Zealand Mon Aug 22

Whale and Dolphin Watching Sat Aug 13

Cherry Picking in Central Otago Sat Aug 13

16 Argentinian people living there, it was awesome! Tue Jul 26

No one got payslips, really crazy Sat Jul 23

picked apples at first Sat Jul 23

In 18 months I have worked with kiwi fruits, apples, two epic ski seasons and a travelling carnival Sat Jul 23

cash-in-hand odd jobs Sat Jul 23

A rugby team weíve beaten twice at the Rugby World Cup? Letís go teasing them! Sat Jul 23

Talking to strangers about charity Sat Jul 23

Fresh out of college Sat Jul 23

Working trees for $350 per week Sat Jul 23

German Windsurf Instructor in New Zealand Sun Jul 17

Vineyard work in South Island New Zealand Sun Jul 17

We had idea, get visa, sell everything and just go to New Zealand Sun Jul 17

6 MONTHS AS A NANNY IN WAIMAI Sun Jul 17

Wilding Pines Sun Jul 17

boss was very nice and friendly Sun May 8

Vintage in Central Otago - Working in the Wine Industry Sun May 8

Mr Apple packhouse experience Mon May 2

North Island Notes Wed Apr 20

Fruitpicking in Napier Wed Apr 20

blueberry harvest season Thu Apr 7

bbq on the beach and if you lucky see some Dolphis too Thu Apr 7

Mate! You are on fire!! Sun Mar 20

The real vineyard work lowdown Fri Mar 11

I had pretty much run out of cash Wed Mar 9

The Land of New Zealand Mon Feb 28

Work in backpackers in exchange for accommodation Sat Feb 26

heard cattle on motorbikes Fri Feb 18

Traditional Maori hangi Thu Feb 17

Fortune Fruit and spitting cherry pits competitions Tue Feb 15

When I got to Whangamata... Sat Feb 12

I could romanticize itÖ Tue Dec 7

I thought it sounded interesting Tue Dec 7

My New Zealand adventure :) Wed Nov 3

Well I am from Mexico... Mon Oct 25

~New Zealand has no bandits and the relaxed lifestyle is second to none~ Fri May 14

New Zealand's got cheap banks!! Mon Apr 26

Tips from Latvia...yes not Russia ;) Tue Mar 16

First Job Thinning Apples... Mon Mar 1

Damn recession! Wed Feb 10

Loving New Zealand.. Mon Feb 8

From aircrafts to vineyard work in New Zealand.. Mon Feb 8

A Czech in New Zealand.. Fri Feb 5

Seasonal Jobs Developer Feeds


Seasonal Work New Zealand






Visit us on Facebook  

Follow us on Twitter  



For all your recruitment needs
Chilli Rentals
World Class, Orchard to Market

Work Travel Fun in New Zealand
The official site of Employment in New Zealand

Advertise here


Employer Login
Forgot password?
Seasonal Jobs RSS Feed