Seasonal Jobs in New Zealand - Seasonal Work in New Zealand
Experiences

   Home > Experiences




Working Experiences in New Zealand



Share your experience >>

Share your kiwi working experience or even just your holiday tips tricks and what ever you want to say about your time in New Zealand....these stories really benefit the users our this site and as a bonus SeasonalJobs.co.nz will pay for it if it gets published!
So what are you waiting for?!






















Seasonal Jobs Developer Feeds

Well I am from Mexico...

Well I am from Mexico, a small town called Guanajuato most of the Revolutionary history is based on here, or started here, you can check it out on Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guanajuato , well everything started in January 2009, I wanted to go somewhere to experience something different from what my whole life used to be, all the time just studying and to be honest Iíve never worked in my life, well I did some works with some family and stuff but never all by myself, well I heard somewhere that there was some work-visa for New Zealand and also for Australia, those where the places where I wanted to go at first, I was between those two places, after two weeks of thinking I finally decided to go New Zealand, I did jumped online to http://www.immigration.govt.nz/migrant/stream/work/ and I found out that there where just 200 places every year, and I decided to apply the day where they where going to be released, this day was 21 March 2009, I quickly applied for the working holiday visa for Mexicans. After 3 or 4 days I received an e-mail saying that I needed to send my medical certificate and some other stuff to be able to be chosen for the visa.
By this moment 4 of my friends told me that they where going to come along with me and we where all planning to leave Mexico at the end of the year in November 2009. The months past away and after the time I was all by myself, they where all retreated from the travelling, I wasnít going to quit on this journey, so I decided to leave all my friends and my girlfriend back home in Mexico in November of 2009.

I finally arrived in Auckland New Zealand, after making some connections in the airport of Los Angeles, USA. I really didnít want to stay in Auckland because it was very big, so I decided at first to take a nice hot shower, I got into X base Auckland central, and a slept my first night in there, I woke up in the morning and I travelled to Wellington, no bus, no flight, just hitchhiking, it took me the whole day it wasnít that easy to catch a ride because it was raining that day, I really hated that day. I got into Wellington city, is really nice by the way if you get to come to New Zealand you canít just go by, you have to get to know Wellington city, I decided that this city was going to be the place where I wanted to stay. It was kind of hard for a person that never worked in his life to find a job, to be honest I had to lie a little in my cv. After three weeks of seeking online, and on the streets everywhere I got a job as a cleaner, I was cleaning offices, gyms, etc. It was kind of a lonely job and also it was during the nights but I earned good money for almost 3 months, I decided to go down to the south island to the vineyards in Canterbury, I worked for 4 more months and then I decided it was about time to relax and travel, I travel around the south island, Christchurch, Queenstown, Milford Sound, etc, many places, that took me two weeks in the south island, then I came back to the north island, travelling all hitchhiking and all by myself, finally in July 2010 i decided it was time to go back home, my girlfriend was waiting for me, and I really missed her, it was really tough for me to leave her back in Mexico, and while I was in New Zealand I needed to talk to her almost everyday, not just because she wanted to, itís because I needed to, but we made it.. In my way back home I stopped for 20 days to travel and relax in Fiji islands, it was really nice and warm after being all year in a cold place like New Zealand, it was a really good experience, it was lonely but I matured as a person and I learned many things, if you havenít decided to travel to New Zealand and you are reading this, donít miss the chance you will not forget, itís a tough work and sometimes youíll want to go back and be home, sleeping tight and eating beautifully but you learn many things after a journey like this.. Good luck





Submitted by: Daniel Diaz Tazzer
Date submitted: 25/10/2010 2:51:52 a.m.


Working as an apple packer in Motueka Mon May 9

Working for free accommodation in Wellington Thu Mar 24

From working holiday visa to a resident Thu Mar 24

From the big city to the field of kiwi fruit Thu Mar 24

Working with Kiwi fruit Thu Mar 24

The Christmas rush Mon Feb 29

Packing kiwifruit in Motueka Mon Feb 29

Asparagus picking Mon Feb 29

put on your work clothes, roll up your sleeves and get out there Tue May 27

MY JOURNEY FROM $350/HR TO MIN WAGE: LOVING IT IN NEW ZEALAND Tue May 27

The Gorilla Hut Sun May 26

Working in sales in NZ Mon May 13

Life as an apple picker Mon May 13

Marahau Sun May 5

hanging nets at isabel vinyard Mon Mar 25

Farm stay Tue Feb 5

Berry-Picking and Ice-Cream Making Tue Dec 18

Vineyard Work in Blenheim Sun Nov 25

Working As A "Milkman" Sat Aug 4

Being an au-pair Thu Aug 2

Grape harvesting in Central Otago Thu Aug 2

Whenever Wed Jun 6

Picking up the oil in Tauranga Mon May 21

Onion grading Sat May 12

Omarama, Place of Light Tue Apr 3

Napier or the job war Sun Apr 1

Some helpful tips Wed Feb 29

Fruit picking in Central Otago Mon Feb 27

Some useful tips Thu Feb 16

Fruit picking in Motueka Wed Jan 18

Where Do We Go From Here Tue Dec 20

Picked it, Packed it, Buggered Off! Tue Dec 20

Seasonal jobs COULD change your very life as you know it Tue Dec 20

I work to live, I donít live to work Mon Dec 19

I only had $100 to my name Sun Nov 20

Odd Jobs In Central Otago Sun Nov 20

Peach thinning working experience Sun Nov 20

The young vines were frosted over Sun Nov 20

The work found me Sun Nov 20

Working for Watties Factory Mon Oct 24

Working New Zealand from a different perspective Mon Oct 24

I had always been dreaming about coming to New Zealand Mon Oct 24

My first job in vineyards was stripping Mon Oct 24

My happiness was indescribable Tue Oct 18

Working in a Packhouse in Auckland Tue Oct 18

Working on a vineyard in Blenheim Tue Oct 18

Cycling in New Zealand not friendly Tue Oct 18

Fruit Picking Tips for New Zealand Mon Aug 22

Whale and Dolphin Watching Sat Aug 13

Cherry Picking in Central Otago Sat Aug 13

16 Argentinian people living there, it was awesome! Tue Jul 26

No one got payslips, really crazy Sat Jul 23

picked apples at first Sat Jul 23

In 18 months I have worked with kiwi fruits, apples, two epic ski seasons and a travelling carnival Sat Jul 23

cash-in-hand odd jobs Sat Jul 23

A rugby team weíve beaten twice at the Rugby World Cup? Letís go teasing them! Sat Jul 23

Talking to strangers about charity Sat Jul 23

Fresh out of college Sat Jul 23

Working trees for $350 per week Sat Jul 23

German Windsurf Instructor in New Zealand Sun Jul 17

Vineyard work in South Island New Zealand Sun Jul 17

We had idea, get visa, sell everything and just go to New Zealand Sun Jul 17

6 MONTHS AS A NANNY IN WAIMAI Sun Jul 17

Wilding Pines Sun Jul 17

boss was very nice and friendly Sun May 8

Vintage in Central Otago - Working in the Wine Industry Sun May 8

Mr Apple packhouse experience Mon May 2

North Island Notes Wed Apr 20

Fruitpicking in Napier Wed Apr 20

blueberry harvest season Thu Apr 7

bbq on the beach and if you lucky see some Dolphis too Thu Apr 7

Mate! You are on fire!! Sun Mar 20

The real vineyard work lowdown Fri Mar 11

I had pretty much run out of cash Wed Mar 9

The Land of New Zealand Mon Feb 28

Work in backpackers in exchange for accommodation Sat Feb 26

heard cattle on motorbikes Fri Feb 18

Traditional Maori hangi Thu Feb 17

Fortune Fruit and spitting cherry pits competitions Tue Feb 15

When I got to Whangamata... Sat Feb 12

I could romanticize itÖ Tue Dec 7

I thought it sounded interesting Tue Dec 7

My New Zealand adventure :) Wed Nov 3

Well I am from Mexico... Mon Oct 25

~New Zealand has no bandits and the relaxed lifestyle is second to none~ Fri May 14

New Zealand's got cheap banks!! Mon Apr 26

Tips from Latvia...yes not Russia ;) Tue Mar 16

First Job Thinning Apples... Mon Mar 1

Damn recession! Wed Feb 10

Loving New Zealand.. Mon Feb 8

From aircrafts to vineyard work in New Zealand.. Mon Feb 8

A Czech in New Zealand.. Fri Feb 5

Seasonal Jobs Developer Feeds


Seasonal Work New Zealand






Visit us on Facebook  

Follow us on Twitter  



For all your recruitment needs
Chilli Rentals
World Class, Orchard to Market

Work Travel Fun in New Zealand
The official site of Employment in New Zealand

Advertise here


Employer Login
Forgot password?
Seasonal Jobs RSS Feed