Seasonal Jobs in New Zealand - Seasonal Work in New Zealand
Experiences

   Home > Experiences




Working Experiences in New Zealand



Share your experience >>

Share your kiwi working experience or even just your holiday tips tricks and what ever you want to say about your time in New Zealand....these stories really benefit the users our this site and as a bonus SeasonalJobs.co.nz will pay for it if it gets published!
So what are you waiting for?!






















Seasonal Jobs Developer Feeds

From the big city to the field of kiwi fruit

From the big city to the field
You couldnt imagine a bigger contrast. After my friend and I arrived in Auckland we immediately looked for a job,   of course if you are coming to NZ for beautiful nature a city that houses a third of the total  population isnt the best address.
Two days later we found ourselves in Kerikeri in the far north. We contacted the Hone Heke lodge members of the BBH club which are working hostels and in my opinion the best place for backpackers seeking employment.
My friend and I worked on a kiwi orchard and were assigned two main tasks,thinning and vine training. For the former we had to take the undersized and misshapen fruits off and discard them on the ground, this is necessary so the remaining fruits can mature and ripen to the desired size. Besides you also have to strap in new vines too a guide wire so they dont get damaged when the tractor drives down the row. During a work day of eight hours you are alone in your row and it can become hard to concentrate with so many hundreds of kiwi hanging above you. The two tea breaks and a half hour lunch make the day much more bearable being able to plug in your head phones listen to music and relax outside in the shade make it all worthwhile.
However while doing vine training there was no canopy to hide under and whether the sun was shining or the rain was pouring down we had to climb up and down the ladders to twist the young kiwi vines around strings.
Speaking of rain on most other orchards it is not possible to work because if you cut or scratch some of the wood you can open up the whole plant to PSA infection. Luckily for my friend an i we were working on an orchard that had PSA resistant kiwi plants, which is really lucky for the backpacker and the backpackers bank account. One of the most important things I found was wearing good trekking shoes, on my first rainy work day I decided to wear comfortable sneakers which got soaked right away. I would suggest against them unless you like the feeling of walking around all day on soggy sponges.
Altogether I did this job for eight days then the work finished. I came too late for the full job as it can last for a few weeks at a time depending on the size of orchard. Compared to my other jobs as a farm worker I would always suggest thinning. Despite being quite boring it is not as exhausting as some of the other jobs so you can always enjoy your free time in the evening without being too tired- for example with a large pizza and a lot of ice cream like we did after weve finished our first week of work.
The last and most important information to the backpacker is payment. Most orchards pay minimum wage which is 14.75$ an hour after tax and holiday pay (which is collected and given to you after you leave the job) you are making 12.91 an hour. I almost always had the weekend off except for once when the weather was really terrible and we made up for it on a Sunday. So you are almost guaranteed 40 hours a week which translates too 516$ every week. Subtracting the hostel costs and grocery bills and a bit of economics you can save over 300$ which can then be spent on day trips too Cape Reinga or Abbey caves or 90 mile beach. Most people visit these places so make friends and share petrol costs and the price can be one fifth of a bus tour!
Urls:
http://www.honeheke.co.nz
http:// www.bbh.co.nz





Submitted by: lomelli
Date submitted: 24/03/2016 11:34:37 a.m.


Working as an apple packer in Motueka Mon May 9

Working for free accommodation in Wellington Thu Mar 24

From working holiday visa to a resident Thu Mar 24

From the big city to the field of kiwi fruit Thu Mar 24

Working with Kiwi fruit Thu Mar 24

The Christmas rush Mon Feb 29

Packing kiwifruit in Motueka Mon Feb 29

Asparagus picking Mon Feb 29

put on your work clothes, roll up your sleeves and get out there Tue May 27

MY JOURNEY FROM $350/HR TO MIN WAGE: LOVING IT IN NEW ZEALAND Tue May 27

The Gorilla Hut Sun May 26

Working in sales in NZ Mon May 13

Life as an apple picker Mon May 13

Marahau Sun May 5

hanging nets at isabel vinyard Mon Mar 25

Farm stay Tue Feb 5

Berry-Picking and Ice-Cream Making Tue Dec 18

Vineyard Work in Blenheim Sun Nov 25

Working As A "Milkman" Sat Aug 4

Being an au-pair Thu Aug 2

Grape harvesting in Central Otago Thu Aug 2

Whenever Wed Jun 6

Picking up the oil in Tauranga Mon May 21

Onion grading Sat May 12

Omarama, Place of Light Tue Apr 3

Napier or the job war Sun Apr 1

Some helpful tips Wed Feb 29

Fruit picking in Central Otago Mon Feb 27

Some useful tips Thu Feb 16

Fruit picking in Motueka Wed Jan 18

Where Do We Go From Here Tue Dec 20

Picked it, Packed it, Buggered Off! Tue Dec 20

Seasonal jobs COULD change your very life as you know it Tue Dec 20

I work to live, I donít live to work Mon Dec 19

I only had $100 to my name Sun Nov 20

Odd Jobs In Central Otago Sun Nov 20

Peach thinning working experience Sun Nov 20

The young vines were frosted over Sun Nov 20

The work found me Sun Nov 20

Working for Watties Factory Mon Oct 24

Working New Zealand from a different perspective Mon Oct 24

I had always been dreaming about coming to New Zealand Mon Oct 24

My first job in vineyards was stripping Mon Oct 24

My happiness was indescribable Tue Oct 18

Working in a Packhouse in Auckland Tue Oct 18

Working on a vineyard in Blenheim Tue Oct 18

Cycling in New Zealand not friendly Tue Oct 18

Fruit Picking Tips for New Zealand Mon Aug 22

Whale and Dolphin Watching Sat Aug 13

Cherry Picking in Central Otago Sat Aug 13

16 Argentinian people living there, it was awesome! Tue Jul 26

No one got payslips, really crazy Sat Jul 23

picked apples at first Sat Jul 23

In 18 months I have worked with kiwi fruits, apples, two epic ski seasons and a travelling carnival Sat Jul 23

cash-in-hand odd jobs Sat Jul 23

A rugby team weíve beaten twice at the Rugby World Cup? Letís go teasing them! Sat Jul 23

Talking to strangers about charity Sat Jul 23

Fresh out of college Sat Jul 23

Working trees for $350 per week Sat Jul 23

German Windsurf Instructor in New Zealand Sun Jul 17

Vineyard work in South Island New Zealand Sun Jul 17

We had idea, get visa, sell everything and just go to New Zealand Sun Jul 17

6 MONTHS AS A NANNY IN WAIMAI Sun Jul 17

Wilding Pines Sun Jul 17

boss was very nice and friendly Sun May 8

Vintage in Central Otago - Working in the Wine Industry Sun May 8

Mr Apple packhouse experience Mon May 2

North Island Notes Wed Apr 20

Fruitpicking in Napier Wed Apr 20

blueberry harvest season Thu Apr 7

bbq on the beach and if you lucky see some Dolphis too Thu Apr 7

Mate! You are on fire!! Sun Mar 20

The real vineyard work lowdown Fri Mar 11

I had pretty much run out of cash Wed Mar 9

The Land of New Zealand Mon Feb 28

Work in backpackers in exchange for accommodation Sat Feb 26

heard cattle on motorbikes Fri Feb 18

Traditional Maori hangi Thu Feb 17

Fortune Fruit and spitting cherry pits competitions Tue Feb 15

When I got to Whangamata... Sat Feb 12

I could romanticize itÖ Tue Dec 7

I thought it sounded interesting Tue Dec 7

My New Zealand adventure :) Wed Nov 3

Well I am from Mexico... Mon Oct 25

~New Zealand has no bandits and the relaxed lifestyle is second to none~ Fri May 14

New Zealand's got cheap banks!! Mon Apr 26

Tips from Latvia...yes not Russia ;) Tue Mar 16

First Job Thinning Apples... Mon Mar 1

Damn recession! Wed Feb 10

Loving New Zealand.. Mon Feb 8

From aircrafts to vineyard work in New Zealand.. Mon Feb 8

A Czech in New Zealand.. Fri Feb 5

Seasonal Jobs Developer Feeds


Seasonal Work New Zealand






Visit us on Facebook  

Follow us on Twitter  



For all your recruitment needs
Chilli Rentals
World Class, Orchard to Market

Work Travel Fun in New Zealand
The official site of Employment in New Zealand

Advertise here


Employer Login
Forgot password?
Seasonal Jobs RSS Feed
Add to Google
Add to My Yahoo!
© Fluidity Limited