Seasonal Jobs in New Zealand - Seasonal Work in New Zealand
Experiences

   Home > Experiences




Working Experiences in New Zealand



Share your experience >>

Share your kiwi working experience or even just your holiday tips tricks and what ever you want to say about your time in New Zealand....these stories really benefit the users our this site and as a bonus SeasonalJobs.co.nz will pay for it if it gets published!
So what are you waiting for?!






















Seasonal Jobs Developer Feeds

My New Zealand adventure :)

Hi, my name is Anna, Im from Germany and this is my story about my New Zealand adventure :)
We started in August 2009 with planning. One of my big hobbies is making photos and I think that there is no better country for great shots. I worked 3 years for a dentist and after that time ( I finished in June 2010) I wanted to do something special, something no one else can steal me after the 10 month I wanted to take. My boyfriend was also ready with school so we decided to travel together. For me it was and is great to have someone to talk with, but there are people all the way so you have always someone to talk and to laugh.
We had to get a working holiday visum, the only problem was, that we did not have a creditcard and that is neccessary if you applie for that in the internet. For our luck we both live near frankfurt and there is a great shop called "Australia-shop". We filled out a paper, payed 80 euro (ca 160 nz $) and the man who worked there sent it to the embassy in Berlin. After about 5 weeks we looked in our postbox and - surprise - there were our visas :)
We booked the whole trip (flight, accomodation for the first 4 nights, wwoofing membership etc.) at the Sprachcaffe in Frankfurt. Thats an organisation and they helped us with every question we had ( hopefully also in the future, we will stay till June 2011...)
On August 30. we started our trip at Frankfurt Airport at 10 pm. I was very exited and adrenalin rushed through my veins. I think my boyfriend ( his name is Sebastian by the way :) was in the same mood. Our parents took us to the gate and I was very happy cause my three best friends were also at my side, that was a good feeling and gave me some peace.Then my personal nightmare began. We started at the Frankfurt Airport and had a 6 hours flight to Dubai. Then we had to wait there for 3 hours (Starbucks saved my life) and after that we had an 18 hours flight to Sidney. I think i watched every movie in this f****** plane cause I didnt find any sleep. After one more hour in sidney we had a 2 1/2 hour flight to auckland and I was incredible happy when i saw the two islands, that was probably one of the best moments in my life :)
Like I told we had the first 4 nights booked by the organisation in a hostel called base. We were in a room with 2 bunk beds and no windows so after that 4th night we were happy to leave... But we could do some important things like opening a bank account at the kiwi bank which was really easy and making an ird number. The most important thing for us was to buy a car. We went to Doro and Darren in Takanini. Its a German woman and a Kiwi mechanic and they sell cars to backpackers with buy back option which is a great deal. We are actually here since 6 weeks and we have our Mitsubishi since 5 weeks and we love it. Its an absolutely safe car without any problems....
One week after we landed in Auckland we drove to Ahipara, thats near to Kaitaia, directly on the ninety miles beach. There is a Backpacker called Endless Summer Lodge and its an absolutely lovely place. Anna, one of the owners, is the daughter of a friend of sebastians granddad, so she offered us to work there and get an accomodation. We had to make the beds, cleaning the kitchen, help in the garden and so on...In our free time we tried to surf, I think it looked very funny, but it made a lot of fun :) It was a great time and I am very glad about that. We also went to Cape Reinga, a very mystic place for the Maori and to the kauri forrest where we visited Tane Mahuta, the biggest kauri in new zealand (there are also kiwis in the night...)
Actually we are near at Wellington in Levin. We went yesterday to the Wellington Zoo and it was absolutely lovely. There is a kiwi called Tahi. It has only one leg cause it stepped in a falle and lost its leg. But Tahi bounced around and looked realy happy... There is also a house called The Nest were you can watch some Doctors operating ill animals. I never saw something like that and it was very very interesting for me.
So, actually we are at Levin at a Farm call blueberry art. We will start tomorrow with wwoofing and im very excited but it seems to be a very nice place with some sheeps and alpakas, blueberrys and nuttrees. I love new zealand, its a great place to be and im happy that there are 8 month left for me :)
if there are any questions please ask me :)
or follow us on loggel.com
http://www.loggel.com/lifelogs/Sebastian/Reisebericht--Anna-und-Sebastian-in-Neuseeland/1634




Submitted by: Anna Jakob
Date submitted: 3/11/2010 12:51:46 a.m.


Working as an apple packer in Motueka Mon May 9

Working for free accommodation in Wellington Thu Mar 24

From working holiday visa to a resident Thu Mar 24

From the big city to the field of kiwi fruit Thu Mar 24

Working with Kiwi fruit Thu Mar 24

The Christmas rush Mon Feb 29

Packing kiwifruit in Motueka Mon Feb 29

Asparagus picking Mon Feb 29

put on your work clothes, roll up your sleeves and get out there Tue May 27

MY JOURNEY FROM $350/HR TO MIN WAGE: LOVING IT IN NEW ZEALAND Tue May 27

The Gorilla Hut Sun May 26

Working in sales in NZ Mon May 13

Life as an apple picker Mon May 13

Marahau Sun May 5

hanging nets at isabel vinyard Mon Mar 25

Farm stay Tue Feb 5

Berry-Picking and Ice-Cream Making Tue Dec 18

Vineyard Work in Blenheim Sun Nov 25

Working As A "Milkman" Sat Aug 4

Being an au-pair Thu Aug 2

Grape harvesting in Central Otago Thu Aug 2

Whenever Wed Jun 6

Picking up the oil in Tauranga Mon May 21

Onion grading Sat May 12

Omarama, Place of Light Tue Apr 3

Napier or the job war Sun Apr 1

Some helpful tips Wed Feb 29

Fruit picking in Central Otago Mon Feb 27

Some useful tips Thu Feb 16

Fruit picking in Motueka Wed Jan 18

Where Do We Go From Here Tue Dec 20

Picked it, Packed it, Buggered Off! Tue Dec 20

Seasonal jobs COULD change your very life as you know it Tue Dec 20

I work to live, I dont live to work Mon Dec 19

I only had $100 to my name Sun Nov 20

Odd Jobs In Central Otago Sun Nov 20

Peach thinning working experience Sun Nov 20

The young vines were frosted over Sun Nov 20

The work found me Sun Nov 20

Working for Watties Factory Mon Oct 24

Working New Zealand from a different perspective Mon Oct 24

I had always been dreaming about coming to New Zealand Mon Oct 24

My first job in vineyards was stripping Mon Oct 24

My happiness was indescribable Tue Oct 18

Working in a Packhouse in Auckland Tue Oct 18

Working on a vineyard in Blenheim Tue Oct 18

Cycling in New Zealand not friendly Tue Oct 18

Fruit Picking Tips for New Zealand Mon Aug 22

Whale and Dolphin Watching Sat Aug 13

Cherry Picking in Central Otago Sat Aug 13

16 Argentinian people living there, it was awesome! Tue Jul 26

No one got payslips, really crazy Sat Jul 23

picked apples at first Sat Jul 23

In 18 months I have worked with kiwi fruits, apples, two epic ski seasons and a travelling carnival Sat Jul 23

cash-in-hand odd jobs Sat Jul 23

A rugby team weve beaten twice at the Rugby World Cup? Lets go teasing them! Sat Jul 23

Talking to strangers about charity Sat Jul 23

Fresh out of college Sat Jul 23

Working trees for $350 per week Sat Jul 23

German Windsurf Instructor in New Zealand Sun Jul 17

Vineyard work in South Island New Zealand Sun Jul 17

We had idea, get visa, sell everything and just go to New Zealand Sun Jul 17

6 MONTHS AS A NANNY IN WAIMAI Sun Jul 17

Wilding Pines Sun Jul 17

boss was very nice and friendly Sun May 8

Vintage in Central Otago - Working in the Wine Industry Sun May 8

Mr Apple packhouse experience Mon May 2

North Island Notes Wed Apr 20

Fruitpicking in Napier Wed Apr 20

blueberry harvest season Thu Apr 7

bbq on the beach and if you lucky see some Dolphis too Thu Apr 7

Mate! You are on fire!! Sun Mar 20

The real vineyard work lowdown Fri Mar 11

I had pretty much run out of cash Wed Mar 9

The Land of New Zealand Mon Feb 28

Work in backpackers in exchange for accommodation Sat Feb 26

heard cattle on motorbikes Fri Feb 18

Traditional Maori hangi Thu Feb 17

Fortune Fruit and spitting cherry pits competitions Tue Feb 15

When I got to Whangamata... Sat Feb 12

I could romanticize it Tue Dec 7

I thought it sounded interesting Tue Dec 7

My New Zealand adventure :) Wed Nov 3

Well I am from Mexico... Mon Oct 25

~New Zealand has no bandits and the relaxed lifestyle is second to none~ Fri May 14

New Zealand's got cheap banks!! Mon Apr 26

Tips from Latvia...yes not Russia ;) Tue Mar 16

First Job Thinning Apples... Mon Mar 1

Damn recession! Wed Feb 10

Loving New Zealand.. Mon Feb 8

From aircrafts to vineyard work in New Zealand.. Mon Feb 8

A Czech in New Zealand.. Fri Feb 5

Seasonal Jobs Developer Feeds


Seasonal Work New Zealand






Visit us on Facebook  

Follow us on Twitter  



For all your recruitment needs
Chilli Rentals
World Class, Orchard to Market

Work Travel Fun in New Zealand
The official site of Employment in New Zealand

Advertise here


Employer Login
Forgot password?
Seasonal Jobs RSS Feed