Seasonal Jobs in New Zealand - Seasonal Work in New Zealand
Experiences

   Home > Experiences




Working Experiences in New Zealand



Share your experience >>

Share your kiwi working experience or even just your holiday tips tricks and what ever you want to say about your time in New Zealand....these stories really benefit the users our this site and as a bonus SeasonalJobs.co.nz will pay for it if it gets published!
So what are you waiting for?!






















Seasonal Jobs Developer Feeds

A Czech in New Zealand..

My story started in Czech republic in Prague. I was looking for some job in Prague during the summer, but I wasn´t successful. One day i got an idea to find some job in another country. I decided to travel and earn money in New Zealand. Why New Zealand? When I was young I have met some people from Czechoslovakia who emigrated to New Zealand during communism in our country and they told me that New Zealand is great country for tramping. I realy love tramping and hiking and I have heard that NZ has good opportunity to get seasonals jobs. This reasons was leading me to change my dreams into reality. I started looking for informations about New Zealand and how to travel, where and how I can get visa and working permit. I have found all information on internet. First step was to get visa. Student agency arrange visa for me and they help me to buy fly ticket. I arrived to Auckland in the end of October. I have spent two day in Auckland to apply for IRD number and arrange bank account. Then I moved to Taupo for one day for small trip and then to Hastings. I was so fool, that I didn´t book accommodation in this town. I had a problem to find some, but finally I got accommodation, but only for one night. Second day I went to information centre and they helped me to find accommodation in Napier, because all backpackers in Hastings were full. I went to Hastings cos I have read that there is a big chance to get job in apple orchard for tinning apples. This work usually starts at November, but people told me, that this year was strong winter and this work is going to start later. They told me the same in Napier. I decided that traveling is better than waitting for job. After some day I have visited Mahia peninsula with two guys from Czech republic. I have met them in Naked bus. And then we went to great walk lake Waikaremoana. Very nice experience was in Whakatane in work and income office. One lady help us very much with looking for work. So we moved to Te Puke for picking kiwi flowers. We were working for contractor Al Kirimana for one week in kiwi fruit orchards. After this work we traveled to Taupo to find better job like housekeeping. Contractor Al told us, that he will send our money to our bank accounts on Wednesday, but reality is that he has never send me it. I have spent about 30 NZD to call him or text him, but his reaction always was: „sry I always 4got“. Now I´m trying to solve this problem with picknz and department of labor. In fact I won´t see my money anymore. Then I spent one week in Taupo. Door to door asking and interviews weren´t successful. The most interesting experience here was small trip around lake Taupo and tour trough sheep farm with owner, but he have not had work for men (male). First of December I moved to Hastings again and registred in picknz. After two hours I have received message with contact to Thornhill and my work in vineyards has bugun. Wire lifting – tacking and budrubbing. Between X-mas and New Year I was in Tongariro for Tongariro northern circuit great walk. After New Year I did not have chance to get job and Thornhill gave opportunity to another guys. But French friends from vineyards found job for Peter - awesome „kiwi“ farmer in kiwi orchard near to Clive. Kiwi fruit tinning. It was only for 5 days. Then I was working in plum orchards – picking for 2weeks. From 28 of January me and my friend don´t have work and trying the best to find it every day. It is not easy now and apple season is going to start mid February.





Submitted by: Michal Cigánek
Date submitted: 5/02/2010 7:45:25 a.m.


Working as an apple packer in Motueka Mon May 9

Working for free accommodation in Wellington Thu Mar 24

From working holiday visa to a resident Thu Mar 24

From the big city to the field of kiwi fruit Thu Mar 24

Working with Kiwi fruit Thu Mar 24

The Christmas rush Mon Feb 29

Packing kiwifruit in Motueka Mon Feb 29

Asparagus picking Mon Feb 29

put on your work clothes, roll up your sleeves and get out there Tue May 27

MY JOURNEY FROM $350/HR TO MIN WAGE: LOVING IT IN NEW ZEALAND Tue May 27

The Gorilla Hut Sun May 26

Working in sales in NZ Mon May 13

Life as an apple picker Mon May 13

Marahau Sun May 5

hanging nets at isabel vinyard Mon Mar 25

Farm stay Tue Feb 5

Berry-Picking and Ice-Cream Making Tue Dec 18

Vineyard Work in Blenheim Sun Nov 25

Working As A "Milkman" Sat Aug 4

Being an au-pair Thu Aug 2

Grape harvesting in Central Otago Thu Aug 2

Whenever Wed Jun 6

Picking up the oil in Tauranga Mon May 21

Onion grading Sat May 12

Omarama, Place of Light Tue Apr 3

Napier or the job war Sun Apr 1

Some helpful tips Wed Feb 29

Fruit picking in Central Otago Mon Feb 27

Some useful tips Thu Feb 16

Fruit picking in Motueka Wed Jan 18

Where Do We Go From Here Tue Dec 20

Picked it, Packed it, Buggered Off! Tue Dec 20

Seasonal jobs COULD change your very life as you know it Tue Dec 20

I work to live, I don’t live to work Mon Dec 19

I only had $100 to my name Sun Nov 20

Odd Jobs In Central Otago Sun Nov 20

Peach thinning working experience Sun Nov 20

The young vines were frosted over Sun Nov 20

The work found me Sun Nov 20

Working for Watties Factory Mon Oct 24

Working New Zealand from a different perspective Mon Oct 24

I had always been dreaming about coming to New Zealand Mon Oct 24

My first job in vineyards was stripping Mon Oct 24

My happiness was indescribable Tue Oct 18

Working in a Packhouse in Auckland Tue Oct 18

Working on a vineyard in Blenheim Tue Oct 18

Cycling in New Zealand not friendly Tue Oct 18

Fruit Picking Tips for New Zealand Mon Aug 22

Whale and Dolphin Watching Sat Aug 13

Cherry Picking in Central Otago Sat Aug 13

16 Argentinian people living there, it was awesome! Tue Jul 26

No one got payslips, really crazy Sat Jul 23

picked apples at first Sat Jul 23

In 18 months I have worked with kiwi fruits, apples, two epic ski seasons and a travelling carnival Sat Jul 23

cash-in-hand odd jobs Sat Jul 23

A rugby team we’ve beaten twice at the Rugby World Cup? Let’s go teasing them! Sat Jul 23

Talking to strangers about charity Sat Jul 23

Fresh out of college Sat Jul 23

Working trees for $350 per week Sat Jul 23

German Windsurf Instructor in New Zealand Sun Jul 17

Vineyard work in South Island New Zealand Sun Jul 17

We had idea, get visa, sell everything and just go to New Zealand Sun Jul 17

6 MONTHS AS A NANNY IN WAIMAI Sun Jul 17

Wilding Pines Sun Jul 17

boss was very nice and friendly Sun May 8

Vintage in Central Otago - Working in the Wine Industry Sun May 8

Mr Apple packhouse experience Mon May 2

North Island Notes Wed Apr 20

Fruitpicking in Napier Wed Apr 20

blueberry harvest season Thu Apr 7

bbq on the beach and if you lucky see some Dolphis too Thu Apr 7

Mate! You are on fire!! Sun Mar 20

The real vineyard work lowdown Fri Mar 11

I had pretty much run out of cash Wed Mar 9

The Land of New Zealand Mon Feb 28

Work in backpackers in exchange for accommodation Sat Feb 26

heard cattle on motorbikes Fri Feb 18

Traditional Maori hangi Thu Feb 17

Fortune Fruit and spitting cherry pits competitions Tue Feb 15

When I got to Whangamata... Sat Feb 12

I could romanticize it… Tue Dec 7

I thought it sounded interesting Tue Dec 7

My New Zealand adventure :) Wed Nov 3

Well I am from Mexico... Mon Oct 25

~New Zealand has no bandits and the relaxed lifestyle is second to none~ Fri May 14

New Zealand's got cheap banks!! Mon Apr 26

Tips from Latvia...yes not Russia ;) Tue Mar 16

First Job Thinning Apples... Mon Mar 1

Damn recession! Wed Feb 10

Loving New Zealand.. Mon Feb 8

From aircrafts to vineyard work in New Zealand.. Mon Feb 8

A Czech in New Zealand.. Fri Feb 5

Seasonal Jobs Developer Feeds


Seasonal Work New Zealand






Visit us on Facebook  

Follow us on Twitter  



For all your recruitment needs
Chilli Rentals
World Class, Orchard to Market

Work Travel Fun in New Zealand
The official site of Employment in New Zealand

Advertise here


Employer Login
Forgot password?
Seasonal Jobs RSS Feed
Add to Google
Add to My Yahoo!
© Fluidity Limited