Seasonal Jobs in New Zealand - Seasonal Work in New Zealand
Experiences

   Home > Experiences




Working Experiences in New Zealand



Share your experience >>

Share your kiwi working experience or even just your holiday tips tricks and what ever you want to say about your time in New Zealand....these stories really benefit the users our this site and as a bonus SeasonalJobs.co.nz will pay for it if it gets published!
So what are you waiting for?!






















Seasonal Jobs Developer Feeds

Working in a Packhouse in Auckland

I came to New Zealand with a friend, fromChile, looking for an incredible experience. We were two weeks in Auckland looking for jobs, visiting hostels, restaurants and offices who can help you finding jobs, also we spent a lot of time going to the library of Mt. Eden,where you can use free internet,  sending CVs every day, while we were living in the house of a family, specifically in acouch of the living room trying to save money, lovely family!. Every day emailsarrive to us saying “After a hard selection we have to say that in thisopportunity your application was unsuccessful”, very frustrating. To forget thosebad experiences we used to visit the amazing parks of Auckland, we walk untilthe top of the highest mountains of Auckland, Mt. Eden, awesome view; we werein the top of another beautiful hill called “One Three Hill” with a hugeobelisk in the top. After a couple of weeks waiting desperately for any job wedecided to travel to Tauranga. Once in Tauranga we met a lot of persons fromevery part of the world, and one week more looking for job without luck, until!We saw an advertisement of one guy who was looking for persons to work in kiwipruning, we called and SUCCESS! The day after we were working in a huge place,the bad part, it was illegal and he paid per production, without experiencelike us we could obtain just 30 dollars per day, considering that we werespending 24 dollars per night in a backpacker, and spending near of 10 dollarsin food per day, we just couldn’t survive for much more time. After the thirdday of work we arrived very tired to the backpacker and a guy told us thatthere was a possibility to work repacking kiwi fruit, our eyes began to dropsmall tears just imagining we could have a normal job, so we went very early theday after to a big company of kiwi fruit asking for job, but we just gotanother unsuccessfully phrase “sorry we are full, but you can leave us yourcontact in case we need more persons”. After that, seeing no future, we spentthe last energy that we had going to the library of Kati Kati, someone told usthat they could help us to find a job, once in there we got a list of a coupleof packhouse in the zone, go for it! –I said-, began calling to the first, butthey were full, the same with the second, the third, the fourth and the fifth,my friend told me return to the backpacker to rest, but I said NO!, there isstill one more company and I will call, I did, saying the same speech for sixthtime “Hi me and my friend are looking for job”, she said “great, we need twopersons now, can you be here in 1 hour more?”, WOW!, “Of course” I said, andthere it was our first legal job!, we were working quite hard for 2 weeks,selecting only the Best quality of kiwis to export them to Asia, but it had agood reward. Finally we have had several jobs, the most are sporadic, and so welearnt to look for jobs continuously. In spite of having this hard experiences,we love this beautiful country, quite kind people, incredible places to visit,is all so green and blue that you feel an unique contact with nature. And now,save money to continue this awesome travel in New Zealand!




Submitted by: Cristian Santibanez
Date submitted: 18/10/2011 9:54:31 a.m.


Working as an apple packer in Motueka Mon May 9

Working for free accommodation in Wellington Thu Mar 24

From working holiday visa to a resident Thu Mar 24

From the big city to the field of kiwi fruit Thu Mar 24

Working with Kiwi fruit Thu Mar 24

The Christmas rush Mon Feb 29

Packing kiwifruit in Motueka Mon Feb 29

Asparagus picking Mon Feb 29

put on your work clothes, roll up your sleeves and get out there Tue May 27

MY JOURNEY FROM $350/HR TO MIN WAGE: LOVING IT IN NEW ZEALAND Tue May 27

The Gorilla Hut Sun May 26

Working in sales in NZ Mon May 13

Life as an apple picker Mon May 13

Marahau Sun May 5

hanging nets at isabel vinyard Mon Mar 25

Farm stay Tue Feb 5

Berry-Picking and Ice-Cream Making Tue Dec 18

Vineyard Work in Blenheim Sun Nov 25

Working As A "Milkman" Sat Aug 4

Being an au-pair Thu Aug 2

Grape harvesting in Central Otago Thu Aug 2

Whenever Wed Jun 6

Picking up the oil in Tauranga Mon May 21

Onion grading Sat May 12

Omarama, Place of Light Tue Apr 3

Napier or the job war Sun Apr 1

Some helpful tips Wed Feb 29

Fruit picking in Central Otago Mon Feb 27

Some useful tips Thu Feb 16

Fruit picking in Motueka Wed Jan 18

Where Do We Go From Here Tue Dec 20

Picked it, Packed it, Buggered Off! Tue Dec 20

Seasonal jobs COULD change your very life as you know it Tue Dec 20

I work to live, I don’t live to work Mon Dec 19

I only had $100 to my name Sun Nov 20

Odd Jobs In Central Otago Sun Nov 20

Peach thinning working experience Sun Nov 20

The young vines were frosted over Sun Nov 20

The work found me Sun Nov 20

Working for Watties Factory Mon Oct 24

Working New Zealand from a different perspective Mon Oct 24

I had always been dreaming about coming to New Zealand Mon Oct 24

My first job in vineyards was stripping Mon Oct 24

My happiness was indescribable Tue Oct 18

Working in a Packhouse in Auckland Tue Oct 18

Working on a vineyard in Blenheim Tue Oct 18

Cycling in New Zealand not friendly Tue Oct 18

Fruit Picking Tips for New Zealand Mon Aug 22

Whale and Dolphin Watching Sat Aug 13

Cherry Picking in Central Otago Sat Aug 13

16 Argentinian people living there, it was awesome! Tue Jul 26

No one got payslips, really crazy Sat Jul 23

picked apples at first Sat Jul 23

In 18 months I have worked with kiwi fruits, apples, two epic ski seasons and a travelling carnival Sat Jul 23

cash-in-hand odd jobs Sat Jul 23

A rugby team we’ve beaten twice at the Rugby World Cup? Let’s go teasing them! Sat Jul 23

Talking to strangers about charity Sat Jul 23

Fresh out of college Sat Jul 23

Working trees for $350 per week Sat Jul 23

German Windsurf Instructor in New Zealand Sun Jul 17

Vineyard work in South Island New Zealand Sun Jul 17

We had idea, get visa, sell everything and just go to New Zealand Sun Jul 17

6 MONTHS AS A NANNY IN WAIMAI Sun Jul 17

Wilding Pines Sun Jul 17

boss was very nice and friendly Sun May 8

Vintage in Central Otago - Working in the Wine Industry Sun May 8

Mr Apple packhouse experience Mon May 2

North Island Notes Wed Apr 20

Fruitpicking in Napier Wed Apr 20

blueberry harvest season Thu Apr 7

bbq on the beach and if you lucky see some Dolphis too Thu Apr 7

Mate! You are on fire!! Sun Mar 20

The real vineyard work lowdown Fri Mar 11

I had pretty much run out of cash Wed Mar 9

The Land of New Zealand Mon Feb 28

Work in backpackers in exchange for accommodation Sat Feb 26

heard cattle on motorbikes Fri Feb 18

Traditional Maori hangi Thu Feb 17

Fortune Fruit and spitting cherry pits competitions Tue Feb 15

When I got to Whangamata... Sat Feb 12

I could romanticize it… Tue Dec 7

I thought it sounded interesting Tue Dec 7

My New Zealand adventure :) Wed Nov 3

Well I am from Mexico... Mon Oct 25

~New Zealand has no bandits and the relaxed lifestyle is second to none~ Fri May 14

New Zealand's got cheap banks!! Mon Apr 26

Tips from Latvia...yes not Russia ;) Tue Mar 16

First Job Thinning Apples... Mon Mar 1

Damn recession! Wed Feb 10

Loving New Zealand.. Mon Feb 8

From aircrafts to vineyard work in New Zealand.. Mon Feb 8

A Czech in New Zealand.. Fri Feb 5

Seasonal Jobs Developer Feeds


Seasonal Work New Zealand






Visit us on Facebook  

Follow us on Twitter  



For all your recruitment needs
Chilli Rentals
World Class, Orchard to Market

Work Travel Fun in New Zealand
The official site of Employment in New Zealand

Advertise here


Employer Login
Forgot password?
Seasonal Jobs RSS Feed
Add to Google
Add to My Yahoo!
© Fluidity Limited